Soft Boiled Eggs

Eggs were one of the items that I had been dying to try with the new sous vide rig. Got a chance today and made them for a salad. Cooked them at 147F for a little over an hour, it was both a little too high of a temp and too long. That’s what I get for getting side tracked, will try eggs again soon!

I put them on top of a warm spinach salad, pictures and final thoughts after the jump.

I had planned to pair these with vegetables of one kind or another, and had the spinach available so I went with a spinach salad. I toasted the pecans, made a vinaigrette with bacon grease and put some parmesan on for an extra salty/creamy kick. The eggs themselves were a little firmer than I wanted but the whites were perfect. The yolk had an amazing texture and was like eating a custard. It would have been beautiful on toast. I will certainly do them like this again.

Pairings: Great Divide Yeti Chocolate Stout

Up Next: Pork Chops, Pork Shoulder, and Tuna

About Aaron Haley

A sous vide Newbie learning his way with an amazing new kitchen tool.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soft Boiled Eggs

  1. Gourmet Dad says:

    I’ve done it at 147.2 for 45 mins and it worked like a dream. The best part is that you can try different times and temps and not be out a lot of money.

    I just got my PolyScience Circulator and love it.

Leave a Reply

