Round One – Rib Eye Steak

After getting home late last night I was excited to get home and officially try out the Sous Vide Pro. I’ll share that here and then try to make the next post an About Me. I picked up a few rib eye steaks at the local grocer.

I rubbed them with garlic, put some olive oil, salt, pepper and butter on them and then bagged them up.

My old Black and Decker sealed them up fine, although it did take a little time. Into the bath it went at 130F.

click below to see the photos of the completed project…

I tossed the bags into my sad little bath. Using my calphalon stockpot at the moment, I’m either going to make an acrylic bath or probably head over to Ace Suppy for a cambro. I spent that time preparing the mushrooms with garlic, honey, and worcstershire as well as blanched asparagus with hollandaise. After about 50 minutes in I took out the bags and seared them in a cast iron pan as hot as I could get it.

After about 45 seconds per side I took them out and cut in. The great thing about gentle cooking via Sous Vide means not waiting for it to rest. Hooray!

Then I put the protein on the plate and prepped the veggies and we were good to go!

I had an amazing Rahr Bourbon Barrel Winter Warmer along with it while I watched Southland, err read War and Peace.

About Aaron Haley

A sous vide Newbie learning his way with an amazing new kitchen tool.
This entry was posted in cooking, sousvide. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Round One – Rib Eye Steak

  1. Jens says:

    I would recommend you to invest in a ISI Thermo Whip to make the sauces, ie.
    Hollandaise Sauce:

    Hollandaise Sauce
    325 g butter, cubed (results in approx. 500 ml of clarified butter) 3 egg yolks, 1 whole egg 25 g diced shallots or onions 50 ml dry white wine, lemon juice or somewhat mild vinegar
    0.5 – 1 tbsp. vegetable oil 1 bay leaf 3 crushed black peppercorns salt, white or cayenne pepper and a pinch of sugar

    Preparation: Melt and clarify the butter. Sweat the shallots in vegetable oil until translucent. Add the peppercorns, bay leaf and lemon/vinegar, quench with white wine, reduce for about 3 minutes. Strain the reduction through a fine sieve. Whisk the egg yolk and whole egg with 4 tbsp. of the reduction over the water bath (approx. 70 °C). Butter (approx. 50 °C) in drops, then gradually stir in. Season to taste. Pour the sauce into the 0.5 L iSi Gourmet Whip PLUS or iSi Thermo Whip PLUS, screw on 1 cream charger and shake vigorously. Keep the iSi Gourmet Whip PLUS or iSi Thermo Whip PLUS without the charger holder warm in the bain-marie at a max. of 65 °C.

    — Jens (twitter: hoerup)

  2. ahaley42 says:

    Thanks for the recipe, I certainly love and use my thermo whip quite a bit! Will have to try it with hollandaise.

Leave a Reply

